Gouache in the studio

So, as I was saying yesterday, I did some gouache paintings in the studio too, developing things out of my sketchbook.

Here is a portrait of a man I saw in a bar. He was Scottish, and obligingly sat extremely still. Did he realise I was drawing? Or was he just a very still man? Perhaps I had been fooled by an elaborate wax model.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Painting of Soho at night, and a man smoking. I often feel that night is the most interesting time to draw things, and the most difficult.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

These are some boys chatting to a girl on a night out. She wasn’t impressed! I know because I was there.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A couple in a pub.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A big crowd of guys in a pub- this is the largest of the paintings, though of course on a screen they can all be the same size.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA So that’s all that. All something a bit different! I think it’s best on brown paper, and small; and I think the best paintings are often straight from life.. but I’m certainly still getting the hang of it. We shall see what the future shows!

Leave a comment

Filed under Painting, Prince's Drawing School

Leave a Reply

