London Fields Lido

The weather has been glorious here, so I’ve been spending a lot of time at London Fields Lido. (Not actually swimming, though. I’m a terrible swimmer. I think I might be a bit water-soluble. I don’t even wash!) But I have been drawing a lot there. I always like drawing swimmers because human bodies are interesting, especially being distorted by water, it makes a really great challenge. Also there’s something funny about swimming, all that splashing around and getting chlorine in the eyes. People who are very good at swimming are very elegant, but those who aren’t are more fun to draw.

Anyway, the drawings are below, but first, here’s a print of the whole thing which I made in East London Printmakers afterwards.

swim screenIMG_1124 IMG_1125 IMG_1126 IMG_1127 IMG_1128 IMG_1129 IMG_1130 IMG_1131

2 Comments

Filed under Drawing, Illustration, Printmaking

2 responses to “London Fields Lido

  1. The “sketches” have a sort of Asian calligraphy feel to them. I think, if there was a way to paste the pieces together, that would make some fine, comical wallpaper. Maybe people who spend a lot of time at the pool/ocean/lake would also find this amusing on their walls. The colored print reminds me of some famous painter whose work I have seen. I cannot think of the name. But, the style similarity is there. Nice work! You are lucky those at the pool don’t complain. I tend to draw stares from those who DO NOT want their picture drawn. I tried your tactic at a dog park with mixed results. People wondered why I was drawing their dogs and didn’t bring a dog of my own.

  2. Dad

    I really like the scenes, which capture the seriousness with which these swimmers ‘swog’ up and down their lanes, not to mention the variety of shapes and sizes! The colour print is terrific,

Leave a Reply

