More of Boston

Here are more drawings- More! More! More!

These last few days have mostly been spent sitting around in cafes and pub and doing a bare minimum of everything. I’ve realized that in the hectic life of an illustrator this might actually be the first time in years that I’ve taken more than two consecutive days off… although, if I’m drawing all day does it really count as a day off?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Anyway, I went and did some cultural touristy things, including the Institute of Contemporary Art, which has a wonderful view over the harbour.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Also been hanging around the Cambridge/Somerville area, which has the most idyllic little houses in the world, straight out of an Edward Hopper painting (or straight into one. I suspect the houses were built before the paintings were made, rather than Hopper making the paintings and then people building the houses to match)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This is a funny little building near Harvard Square. Looks a bit like a face to me.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Some people in pubs and bars and things, and playing music- you know, like human beings do.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The other big things I did was a night at the Isabella Stewart Gardener Museum (like the nights-at-the-museum they do in the National in Edinburgh, and probably in many other museums around the world, you know? Drinks and music and things). Observant readers will notice that this is the same place I went just two days ago, and that I put up a drawing of it. Inobservant viewers can have their memories jogged by seeing the same drawing again:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

So I hung out there all evening and drew lots of pictures and drank lots of beer.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

For example, a hairy guitarist lurking in the flowerbeds. And a bass player, seen from a balcony (is there any more difficult angle to draw a bass player from?) . Anyway, that museum must just be one of the most beautiful in the world. I wonder if they take artists-in-residence? I wonder if they’ll let me be an artist-in-residence? I wonder if they’ll just let me skulk around and sleep under the desks?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Anyway, that’s Boston pretty much done. Tonight I’m going to a Red Sox game (which there will be HUNDREDS of drawings from), and then tomorrow morning I’m going up to Montreal, where I’ll be drawing in French. Until then!

2 Comments

Filed under Drawing, Sketchbook

2 responses to “More of Boston

  1. As always, loving it all! I’m going to challenge you to some holiday drawing, let’s see what I can whip up in Italy 😉 Good luck with the PDS too xx

Leave a Reply

