Time for wine

Now if you think that being a professional illustrator is nothing but a rock-and-roll whirlwind of parties and wine and beautiful women, I’m happy to tell you that you’re completely correct. Admittedly these parties rarely include more than four guests, and the wine never costs more than £4.99 a bottle, but at least the women are beautiful and you can’t complain when you get paid to draw all day.

Blog posts have been a bit thin on the ground lately because I’m not allowed to show any of my commissioned work until it’s published, but I can show you other things. One such thing is that I’ve just had my second exhibition opening in as many weeks, which is the In Residence exhibition at Edinburgh College of Art. Photos are a sparse at the moment (obviously I didn’t have the presence of mind to bring a camera) but I’m certain that Gregor Doverty has some because he had built a machine which takes photos and there are some terrible ones of me. In the mean time, Paul Maguire took a couple so I can prove that there was an event.

IMG_2902

There was wine and it was cheap and delicious.

IMG_2910

On a similar note, I’ve done something that I don’t do terribly often, which is a mock editorial. Cat does them all the time and her work is brilliant, but I’ve never really got the hang of conceptual illustrations as opposed to narrative illustrations.

But earlier I came across this article on the Guardian website and it basically says that all wine-tasting was a load of rubbish- the kind of article that Guardian writers produce to upset Telegraph writers. It says that even experienced professional wine tasters are often inconsistent and find it difficult to distinguish between different wines. And I thought, hell, it’s Sunday night, I’m drinking wine myself, why not do a very quick editorial sketch in watercolour and ink:

IMAG0118

The quality isn’t tremendous because it’s taken with my phone (I’m still baffled by a phone that takes photos) but I think it’s a nice little idea: Of course wine tasters find it difficult to distinguish between different wines. They drink wine all day.

Anyway, as it’s possibly the first time I’ve put up any sort of mock editorial, do let me know what you think of it! Hopefully it gets across the concept of the article in with speed and lucidity. Maybe it doesn’t. What do I know? I drink wine all day.

Leave a comment

Filed under Events and Exhibitions, Illustration, Wine

Leave a Reply

