The Death of an Illustrator

I’m going to tell you a story about overcoming my unremitting reluctance to have any sort of skills as a graphic designer.

We got a brief in school, to design a poster for a garden festival, on the theme of Mauvaise Herbe (which means “weeds” in French, not “bad grass” as I originally assumed). There were some dimensions and text and other things that had to be included. I won’t go into that. There is a lot of fun to be had with pictures that can come off this. So I made this:

 

Which is, I think, quite a good picture. What’s important for me was it was fun to make. It’s actually two lino cuts (the legs and the grass are separate blocks), and then watercoloured on top, which means I can make lots of lino prints and trying different things with watercolour.

Then I had to put in the text. Because I only have a vague idea of how the text is going to look at the start, and I don’t tend to let mundane concerns such as dimensions get in the way of making the image, so trying to fit in text at the end becomes a real battle. It’s actually quite a lot of text to fit in, as you’ll see in a moment. I won’t show you all the rubbish draft layouts I made, but suffice to say the most depressing moment of my life to date is the realisation that when it comes to graphic design, less is more. So in the end I made this:

 

Hahahaha just kidding. But you know, if I hadn’t spend the last few days making the picture in the first place, I’d have said it was quite a good poster. Which is depressing when you’ve spent several days printing and watercolouring.

The finished poster looks like this:

Which works okay I think. Anyway there’s no moral to this story. I just wanted to moan about spending the last couple of hours trying to put text into an image. I should really practice these things more.

Incidently here are a few alternative posters with the other prints I made:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a comment

Filed under Illustration, Making things

Leave a Reply

